Leader of the House

The effective management of the Proceedings of the House can be ensured by active participation of the Leader of House, throughout the proceedings. The Leader of the House, who may be the Chief Minister of the State, is a man of influence with great following both in the House and outside. He is the leader of the majority party. His presence in the House is an added strength that ensures smooth functioning of the House.

The Leader of the House frequently conducts meetings with leaders of various political parties in the House, to discuss with them the proposals and measures that the government is planning. During these meetings, he may request the members to offer suggestions so that he can give a final shape to the proposals of planned initiatives, before they are introduced in the House. Such a step on the part of the Leader of the House generates a good will among political parties and their leaders.

The Leader of the House exercises direct influence on the course of the business of the House. His role in arranging government business is vital. It is the Leader of the House who outlines the official programme that has to be transacted during the meetings of the House. The Leader of the House, who is also a Member of the Business Advisory Committee, places its report on the Table of the House and shapes the course and content of legislation. He maintains liaison with other political parties in the House, particularly in case of urgency and intervenes in discussion, responds to the demands of the members of opposition parties and groups, and also controls unusual behavior of members and extends help to the Chair in taking decisions.


Mr. Chandra Babu Naidu - Leader of the House

Mr. Nara Chandrababu Naidu is Present Hon'ble  Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh  and aslo the President of Telugu Desam Party (TDP). Mr. N. Chandrababu Naidu was born on April 20, 1951 in the Naravaripally village of Chittoor district, Andhra Pradesh. He did his Masters in Economics from the Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati.

Mr. Nara Chandrababu Naidu was elected to the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly in 1978 from the Chandragiri constituency in Chittoor district. He subsequently became a Minister and held the portfolios of Archives, Cinematography, Technical Education, Animal Husbandry, Dairy Development, Public Libraries and Minor Irrigation between 1980 and 1983.  During the Period 1995-2004 He served as Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh,  From 2004 -2009 Hewas the Leader of Oppositon of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly